New Books! 4/14/15

This gallery contains 11 photos.

Originally posted on BookPeople's Blog:
HARDCOVER FICTION The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand–which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert. Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly…

The Importance of a Good Book Cover

Originally posted on Self Publishing News For Self-Publishing Authors:

Regardless of the content of your book, a thoughtful, beautifully crafted cover will play an integral role in the success of your book. Many a self-published author (and many traditionally published authors as well!) lament that, while they poured their soul into every precious word, they didn’t give enough attention to the package. Well, looks matter.

Not convinced? Think about how you make buying decisions in your local supermarket. Perhaps you’re trying a new soup or selecting wine to go with dinner. How did you choose? Odds are it was an eye-catching label that drove you to pick up certain brands. Maybe you read a couple product descriptions, and then you placed the prettiest among them in your cart.

Readers choose books in much the same way. While they usually do read book summaries to help them make a decision, how do they decide which summaries to read in the…

View original 1,066 more words

Kids Poetry Month: Rhymes & Rhythms!

Originally posted on BookPeople's Blog:

poetry sign
When most people think of poetry for kids, Shel Silverstein often comes to mind, and rightly so since his poems are a silly and delightful right-of-passage for any child. April, being National Poetry Month, offers the perfect time to take a look at the variety and scope of poetry for children beyond the Silverstein collections. We’ll be taking a look at classics, rhymes & meter, and novels & nonfiction in verse. Today, we feature books that have a great read-aloud rhyme, rhythm, or both!

rhyme poetry

Round Is a Tortilla: A Book of Shapes
by Roseanne Greenfield Thong, illustrated by John Parra
“Stone metates inside our casa
help us ground our corn to masa.

Rectangles are flags that fly
above the scoreboard, way up high.
How many rectangles do you spy?”

Counting Crows
by Kathi Appelt, illustrated by Rob Dunlavey
“One, two, three,
four, five, six
crows in a nest

View original 554 more words

Chuck Wendig’s Flash Fiction Challenge– OBERON IS HERE

WHIM NOTES - Jenn Andrew's Literature Blog:

Flash Fiction challenge. This one is good.
Jenn

Originally posted on Writing and other forms of suffering:

A flash fiction challenge from Chuck Wendig, 1000 words based on an image.

I went with the one Chuck provided–

chuckoberon1

My usual mediocrity….

Copyright 2015 Douglas Daniel
************************
OBERON IS HERE

Finally, fighting the traffic was just too much. I gave up— there was no chance of getting home today. I pulled off into the driveway of a little honky-town bar and restaurant, just shy of the I-20/S-208 interchange. I could see the cars on the interstate were at a complete stand-still. I just didn’t have enough energy left to brave it.

The signboard outside the bar read “OBERON IS HERE” in big, black letters. I mean, state the obvious.

I went in. The air conditioning inside gave me a pleasant shiver. Driving two hundred miles in the Texas heat will take it out of you, even if your AC was working, which mine wasn’t.

The bar portion of…

View original 780 more words

When Caring Takes Courage by Mara Botonis Virtual Book Tour

Originally posted on Self Publishing News For Self-Publishing Authors:

For many self-publishing authors, it can be a challenge to come up with creative ways to market a self-published book. While book tours are a great way to connect with readers, they may not be cost-effective, especially if you want to reach a nationwide audience. However, technology makes it possible for authors to reach a larger audience, without all of the costly travel.

Take note from self-publishing Outskirts Press author, Mara Botonis, who is taking her latest book, When Caring Takes Courage, on tour – a virtual book tour, that is. She will be featured on several blogs over the weeks and months ahead so keep your eyes peeled to learn more about her and her book.


Luckily for us, Mara was kind enough to answer a few questions as the tour was getting started so that we can give you a sneak peek into the mind of the…

View original 543 more words

The Stuff of Legend: Book 1: The Dark, by Mike Raicht and Brian Smith, Illustrated by Charles Paul Wilson III

Originally posted on Blogging for a Good Book:

legendA lot of admonishments are made about not judging a book by its cover. But as I was browsing our shelves, I came across this dark little volume and was immediately intrigued. Mimicking a dinged up, ink spattered journal, its rather grandiose title The Stuff of Legend was set above the drawing of a stuffed bear. Its face set with a sense of purpose, the bear steps towards the reader as if walking towards its destiny, glancing at the toys behind it with a look of either challenge or warning. It is an arresting image, but despite the ominous subtitle, The Dark, I picked up the book fully expecting the fluffy cuteness of the bear to be the reader’s companion through the story, juxtaposed against whatever low-level gloom the authors threw at the character. After just a few pages I realized I was entirely off base.

The story has…

View original 259 more words

It’s National Poetry Month! Celebrate by Using a Poetry Formatting Kit to Publish Your Own Book

Originally posted on Self Publishing News For Self-Publishing Authors:

Roses are red,
Violets are blue,
It’s National Poetry Month –
What’s a self-publishing poet to do?

Celebrate, that’s what! Founded by the Academy of American Poets in 1996, National Poetry Month is held every April. Together, schools, publishers, libraries, booksellers and poets all across the country celebrate poetry and its vital place in American arts culture through a variety of events, from poetry readings to full-fledged festivals. It’s only fitting to choose this month as the time to contribute your own verses to the art of poetry – and it’s much easier than you might think!

With help from Outskirts Press, you have the power to quickly and easily publish a fully-formatted, professionally-designed volume of your works with our affordable and convenient Poetry Formatting Kit. Formatting elements like justification, centering, page spreads, margins, page numbering, graphical elements, and title drops – elements that can take a writer a…

View original 135 more words